Gale eBooks features encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7.
National Geographic Kids is part of the National Geographic Virtual Library, which brings together a complete archive of National Geographic magazine - every page of every issue - along with a cross-searchable collection of National Geographic books, maps, images, and videos.
NewsBank consolidates current and archived information from thousands of newspaper titles, as well as newswires, web editions, blogs, videos, broadcast transcripts, business journals, periodicals, government documents and other publications. Easily explore tens of millions of current and archived news articles and obituaries in order to pinpoint information from primary sources at the local, state, regional, national and international levels. NewsBank also offers online educational resources covering all academic curricula. Aligned with state standards and targeting all subject areas, NewsBank’s school-focused solutions include primary sources and inquiry-based projects that support learning, enhance research and help develop critical thinking skills.
Culturegrams™ (grades K-12) is an online resource of reports on 209 countries, each U.S. state, and all 13 Canadian provinces and territories. Reports contain information on daily life and culture, including the history, customs, and lifestyles of the world's people, as well as audio, video, images, maps, infographics, and classroom exercises. The content is written at a range of reading levels to support a variety of users.
eLibrary (grades 6-12) delivers one of the largest general reference collections of periodical and digital media content designed to support middle and high school students, college-prep and college-level researchers, and professional educators. Educators can search for resources that correlate to state and national standards, including Common Core State Standards. Researchers will find the answers they need from more than 2,000 full-text magazines, newspapers, books, and transcript titles, plus a collection of over 7 million maps, pictures, weblinks, and audio/video files
SIRS Discoverer (grades 3-9) is a general reference database providing safe, reliable, curriculum-aligned content and features for use by students and educators in Primary and early Secondary schools. All content is hand selected and indexed from over 2,100+ reliable high-quality sources. High interest, relevant non-fiction newspaper and magazine articles, as well as graphs, tables and political cartoons are all easily accessible through easy-to-follow search and browse options
SIRS Issues Researcher (grades 6-12) delivers the pros and cons on today’s complex social issues with relevant, credible information that tells the whole story on the major questions of the day. Go in depth into any one of 345+ critical, current, and enduring social issues. Analyses and opinions hand selected from thousands of national and international sources such as newspaper & magazine articles, videos, charts, maps, statistics, primary sources and government documents.